27 January, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday (1)


I haven't really participated in this meme before, but today I spotted this and just had to share it:



It's supposed to be out March 1st. I can't wait! Click on the widget to read the first few chapters.

Edit: I'm reading them right now and am anticipating that moment of disappointment when I reach the end of the sample. So far it's clever and funny. Penelope seems quite Jane-Eyre-inspired, the book implies she has read the book, which brings a strange and pleasing meta-book feeling to me. Readers who enjoy Lemony Snicket & Trenton Lee Stewart will like this too--readers who enjoy The Willoughbys will devour this with delight!

The artist for the book cover and illustrations is Jon Klassen; I had the pleasure of viewing his group show (with Scott Campbell and other favorites of mine) at Nucleus last year. (swoon!)

p.s. to zombie lovers: the next Nucleus art exhibition is Zombies in Love. Last one there is a zombie dinner!

Find more from Maryrose Wood on GoodReads.

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

3 comments:

  1. Oooo I must check it out :) Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a fun book! Hadn't heard of this one, so thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  3. My TBR pile is going to collapse on itself from all this weight! But I can't help but add this one to the pile. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete